Waiting on Wednesday–I’ll Give You the Sun by Jandy Nelson

wow

Waiting on Wednesday is a weekly meme hosted by Breaking the Spine.  It’s designed for bloggers to spotlight the upcoming releases that they simply can’t wait to read.

After reading and falling in love with Jandy Nelson’s debut The Sky is Everywhere back in 2010, I was constantly checking Goodreads to see if her next book was listed. I found out that she was working on this book back in 2012, so I’ve been eagerly waiting for this for a LONG time! I do wish it had a blurb other than “for fans of John Green, David Levithan, and Rainbow Rowell” simply because I think Nelson is an author who’s strong enough to stand on her own, but I appreciate the reasoning behind it. And hopefully it will help her sell more books (I’m always rooting for authors I love to do well). Anyway, I would read this book no matter what it’s about, but this one sounds great. I love stories about siblings.

I'll Give You the SunTitle & Author: I’ll Give You the Sun by Jandy Nelson

Release Date: September 16th, 2014

Publisher: Dial Books for Young Readers

Summary (From Goodreads):

A brilliant, luminous story of first love, family, loss, and betrayal for fans of John Green, David Levithan, and Rainbow Rowell

Jude and her brother, Noah, are incredibly close twins. At thirteen, isolated Noah draws constantly and is falling in love with the charismatic boy next door, while daredevil Jude surfs and cliff-dives and wears red-red lipstick and does the talking for both of them. But three years later, Jude and Noah are barely speaking. Something has happened to wreck the twins in different and divisive ways . . . until Jude meets a cocky, broken, beautiful boy, as well as an unpredictable new mentor. The early years are Noah’s story to tell. The later years are Jude’s. What the twins don’t realize is that they each have only half the story, and if they could just find their way back to one another, they’d have a chance to remake their world. 
 
This radiant, fully alive, sometimes very funny novel from the critically acclaimed author of The Sky Is Everywhere will leave you breathless and teary and laughing—often all at once. 

Comments

  1. I am excited for this one too! I loved her debut as well. The cover on this one is so simple, but I really like it! Have a great week! ~Megan

  2. this sounds really great and I added the first one to my TBR list. ~Sheri

I love comments!

%d bloggers like this: