Author Guest Post: Character Playlist from A Mirror in the Sky by Aditi Khorana

MirrorintheSky-blogtour

Mirror in the Sky by Aditi Khorana has been such a fun book to read this summer; I can’t wait to share it with my students this fall! This debut released on June 21st and would make a great addition to your classroom library.

I don’t know about anyone else, but I often hear songs and think about books that they should play in if such a thing could happen. The fact that Aditi Khorana created a playlist that Tara’s mom, Jennifer, would love is awesome.

9781595148568Summary (From Goodreads):

An  evocative debut, perfect for fans of Tommy Wallach’s  We All Looked Up, about the discovery of a mirror planet to Earth and how it dramatically changes the course of one Indian-American girl’s junior year.

“Beautifully written, surprising and poignant.”
—Lynn Weingarten, New York Times bestselling author of Suicide Notes from Beautiful Girls

For Tara Krishnan, navigating Brierly, the academically rigorous prep school she attends on scholarship, feels overwhelming and impossible. Her junior year begins in the wake of a startling discovery: A message from an alternate Earth, light years away, is intercepted by NASA. This means that on another planet, there is another version of Tara, a Tara who could be living better, burning brighter, because of tiny differences in her choices.

The world lights up with the knowledge of Terra Nova, the mirror planet, and Tara’s life on Earth begins to change. At first, small shifts happen, like attention from Nick Osterman, the most popular guy at Brierly, and her mother playing hooky from work to watch the news all day. But eventually those small shifts swell, the discovery of Terra Nova like a black hole, bending all the light around it.

As a new era of scientific history dawns and Tara’s life at Brierly continues its orbit, only one thing is clear: Nothing on Earth–or for Tara–will ever be the same again.

MIRROR IN THE SKY Character Playlist – Jennifer

From Aditi: Jennifer is the ultimate child of the 80s. Thinking about that era that makes her feel safe and happy; it was a time when her parents were still alive. It also represents a time when she lost her parents and spent the remaining years of her youth studying to become a ballerina as she moved from one relative’s home to another

 Time After Time – Cyndi Lauper
Aditi Khorana [AK]: This song makes Jennifer think of her parents.

Our Lips Are Sealed – The Go-Go’s
[AK]: Jennifer thought Belida Carlisle had the best sense of style when she was younger

Come On Eileen – Dexy’s Midnight Runners
[AK]: Catchiest song on the planet.

Billie Jean – Michael Jackson
[AK]: Michael Jackson’s dance moves were inspirational to Jennifer, then an aspiring dancer.

Take On Me – a-ha
[AK]: This was Jennifer’s favorite music video when she was a kid.

Jessie’s Girl – Rick Springfield
[AK]: Who doesn’t love this song?

Enjoy the Silence – Depeche Mode
[AK]: Jennifer’s first concert was a Depeche Mode concert.

All Through the Night – Cyndi Lauper
[AK]: Another Cyndi Lauper song that reminds Jennifer of dancing with her mother.

We Got the Beat – The Go-Go’s
[AK]: Because the Go-Go’s were the coolest lady band of the 80s.

Bette Davis Eyes – Kim Carnes
[AK]: Because Jennifer has Bette Davis eyes.

Eye of the Tiger – Survivor
[AK]: Jennifer listened to this song (from the Rocky soundtrack) when she trained to dance.

 Africa – Toto
[AK]: Yes, the ultimate one-hit-wonder, but a Jennifer favorite.

What A Feeling – Irene Cara
[AK]: Because Flashdance is Jennifer’s favorite movie.

Don’t You (Forget About Me) – Simple Minds
[AK]: Jennifer hopes wherever her parents are, they remember her

Everywhere – Fleetwood Mac
[AK]: Both Tara and Jennifer are obsessed with Fleetwood Mac.

Kyrie – Mr. Mister
[AK]: Nobody understands the lyrics to this song because they’re literally Greek. Apparently, the entire song is a prayer—just like Jennifer’s prayer to reunite with her parents.

AditiKhorana-credit RebeccaFishmanABOUT THE AUTHOR: Aditi Khorana spent part of her childhood in India, Denmark and New England. She has a BA in International Relations from Brown University and an MA in Global Media and Communications from the Annenberg School for Communication. She has worked as a journalist at ABC News, CNN, and PBS, and most recently as a marketing executive consulting for various Hollywood studios including FOX, Paramount and SONY. MIRROR IN THE SKY is her first novel. She lives in Los Angeles and spends her free time reading, hiking, and exploring LA’s eclectic and wonderful architecture.

Waiting on Wednesday–The Square Root of Summer by Harriet Reuter Hapgood

wow

Waiting on Wednesday is a weekly meme hosted by Breaking the Spine.  It’s designed for bloggers to spotlight the upcoming releases that they simply can’t wait to read.

Why am I so often drawn to books featuring grieving characters? I know I’m not purposely seeking them out, but I have read and loved so many! Regardless, The Square Root of Summer really grabbed my interest because there’s also a time travel element. And I’m extra excited because as I was looking for more audiobooks to listen to via Audible, I discovered that Roaring Brook Press had an audiobook made for Harriet Reuter Hapgood’s debut!

The Square Root of SummerTitle & Author: The Square Root of Summer by Harriet Reuter Hapgood

Release Date: May 3rd, 2016

Publisher: Roaring Brook Press

Summary (From Goodreads):

This is what it means to love someone. This is what it means to grieve someone. It’s a little bit like a black hole. It’s a little bit like infinity.

Gottie H. Oppenheimer is losing time. Literally. When the fabric of the universe around her seaside town begins to fray, she’s hurtled through wormholes to her past:

To last summer, when her grandfather Grey died. To the afternoon she fell in love with Jason, who wouldn’t even hold her hand at the funeral. To the day her best friend Thomas moved away and left her behind with a scar on her hand and a black hole in her memory.

Although Grey is still gone, Jason and Thomas are back, and Gottie’s past, present, and future are about to collide—and someone’s heart is about to be broken.

Waiting on Wednesday–The Loose Ends List by Carrie Firestone

 

wow

Waiting on Wednesday is a weekly meme hosted by Breaking the Spine.  It’s designed for bloggers to spotlight the upcoming releases that they simply can’t wait to read.

Before I mention why I’m featuring this 2016 debut, I need to point out the cover. It is so pretty and eye catching! Also, I’m excited to read a book featuring the summer before college begins; it’s such a transitional and exciting time. The summary leaves me feeling like The Loose Ends List will be a good combination of handling grief and all things sweet. I really wish it was June and not cold, gray January.

The Loose Ends ListTitle & Author: The Loose Ends List by Carrie Firestone

Release Date: June 7th, 2016

Publisher: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers

Summary (From Goodreads):

A refreshing, funny, and moving debut novel about first loves, last wishes, and letting go.

Seventeen-year-old Maddie O’Neill Levine lives a charmed life, and is primed to spend the perfect pre-college summer with her best friends and young-at-heart socialite grandmother (also Maddie’s closest confidante), tying up high school loose ends. Maddie’s plans change the instant Gram announces that she is terminally ill and has booked the family on a secret “death with dignity” cruise ship so that she can leave the world in her own unconventional way – and give the O’Neill clan an unforgettable summer of dreams-come-true in the process.

Soon, Maddie is on the trip of a lifetime with her over-the-top family. As they travel the globe, Maddie bonds with other passengers and falls for Enzo, who is processing his own grief. But despite the laughter, headiness of first love, and excitement of glamorous destinations, Maddie knows she is on the brink of losing Gram. She struggles to find the strength to say good-bye in a whirlwind summer shaped by love, loss, and the power of forgiveness.

Waiting on Wednesday: Kill the Boy Band by Goldy Moldavsky

wow

Waiting on Wednesday is a weekly meme hosted by Breaking the Spine.  It’s designed for bloggers to spotlight the upcoming releases that they simply can’t wait to read.

I left NCTE/ALAN with piles of books, but I didn’t get a copy of Kill the Boy Band which I’m bummed about. My friends have raved about it and said I should have it on my 2016 reading radar. I’ve come to realize that I don’t read as many humorous books as I should and this debut strikes me as something my students will want to read. I’m often drawn to serious/heavy topics, so I’m going to challenge myself to read a few more books on the lighter side in 2016. I think this debut will be a great way to meet my new reading goal!

Kill the Boy BandTitle & Author: Kill the Boy Band by Goldy  Moldavsky

Release Date: February 23rd, 2016

Publisher: Pointe (Scholastic)

Summary (From Goodreads):

From debut author Goldy Moldavsky, the story of four superfan friends whose devotion to their favorite boy band has darkly comical and murderous results.

Okay, so just know from the start that it wasn’t supposed to go like this. All we wanted was to get near The Ruperts, our favorite boy band.

We didn’t mean to kidnap one of the guys. It kind of, sort of happened that way. But now he’s tied up in our hotel room. And the worst part of all, it’s Rupert P. All four members of The Ruperts might have the same first name, but they couldn’t be more different. And Rupert P. is the biggest flop out of the whole group.

We didn’t mean to hold hostage a member of The Ruperts, I swear. At least, I didn’t. We are fans. Okay, superfans who spend all of our free time tweeting about the boys and updating our fan tumblrs. But so what, that’s what you do when you love a group so much it hurts.

How did it get this far? Who knows. I mean midterms are coming up. I really do not have time to go to hell.

%d bloggers like this: